Home          What's New            Membership           Links           Collections            Hall of Legends

US Southwest Soaring Museum

Hall of Legends

On September 9, 2017 the first class of “Southwest Soaring Legends” was inducted in to the US Southwest Soaring Museum’s new “Hall of Legends.”  The reason for the creation of the Hall of Legends is to formally recognize those individuals from the Southwest US who have achieved major soaring accomplishments and/or individuals who have made major contributions to promote and support the sport of soaring.

Bob Hudson announcing the 2017 inductees

The museum’s board, led by Bob Hudson, began planning for this new museum program in the fall of 2016. Potential candidates were nominated and considered in the spring of 2017, and in early August the museum board made their selections.

A reception was held on Saturday, September 9, 2017 at the museum and it was followed by the announcement of the first group of inductees.

Gary Fogel presenting on gliding at Torry Pines.

After the induction an excellent presentation was made by Dr. Gary Fogel on the history of soaring at Torrey Pines, CA. Interestingly some of the early southwest soaring pioneers were among those who flew in the early years at Torrey Pines.

Unfortunately, family members were not able to attend, but the four new “Legends” were warmly and enthusiastically recognized by the many museum supporters in attendance.

The inductees for 2017 are as follows:

George Applebay - New Mexico - Museum Founder, Sailplane Designer and Builder, Mentor

Richard (Dick) Johnson - Texas - Eleven time US National Champion, International Competitor, Sailplane Flight Testing, Author

Joseph Lincoln - Arizona - World/National Records, Author, VP Soaring Society of America

Al Santilli - New Mexico - Instructor, National Competitor, Meteorologist, Author

The First Four Inductees, click for larger version

In 2018, the names of new nominees will be accepted and next fall the second class of “Legends” will be inducted.

For further information on the nominating and election procedures, see this PDF document.